VIJHL Bursaries

Some VIJHL clubs have bursaries associated with their organizations and the Campbell River Storm is one such team. The Storm Community Scholarship Fund is operated at arm's length with the Campbell River Rotary Club making the final selections.

Volunteers raise money through sponsorships, silent auctions and local fundraising events like the Scholarship Dinner & Gala each February. In 2019, the event has been postponed until after the playoffs.

In 2018, Storm players Dylan McCann (VIU), Cole Slaney, Logan Cursley and Jake McKenzie were honoured with $1,000 bursaries.

In 2017, Storm players Kobe Oishi (VIU), Carter Hikichi, Trevor Bottomley (UVic) and Christian Brandt (VIU) were honoured with $1,000 bursaries.

In 2016, Darryl Senholt (VIU), Ryan Grills (UVic), Braeden Cyra (UVic) and Gage Colpron (VIU) were recipients and all 4 moved onto college.

The 2019 Storm Community Scholarships will be announced in April.