The AllStar a Hit in Campbell River

Now that was fun! The stars of the VIJHL put on a show at Rod Brind’Amour Arena in Campbell River. The game was spotlighted by incredible goals, spectacular saves, penalty shots and some interesting calls.


Tanner Tiel led the way with 4 assists for the South, Mateo Albinati scored twice and added a helper on the way to a 10-7 South victory.


On the North side, Darian Harris, Landon Dziadyk and Michael Dyck tallied for 3 points each.


The 6 goaltenders really should be commended for their efforts as this wasn’t a well defended game. Jake Sweet, Owen Sikkes, Rett Rook, Matthias Smith, Charles-Oliver LePage and Aaron de Kok made some incredible stops like the penalty shot save by Cookie flat on his back in the third.


It looked and sounded like everyone in the Brindy was enjoying themselves including the officials. A case in point was when big Mateo Albinati inadvertently knocked down the referee; he brushed himself off, got up, smiled and raised his arm in the air. Albs went to the box for interference and the fans loved it.


In a long season, it was great to see our stars enjoy themselves and mingle with each other on the ice afterwards. There were lots memories generated and some great reunions like the Cougars’ Owen Sikkes and the Storms’ Damon Kramer who won the Cyclone Taylor Cup back in 2017 with the KIJHL Beaver Valley Nitehawks.


The Campbell River Storm should be applauded for once again hosting the return of a classic (last year they hosted the return of the Prospects game) filling the stands and bringing in some impressive uniforms.




South 1-0             Mateo Albinati from Gavin Grewal and Evan Easton


South 2-0             Keegan Durrance from Tanner Tiel


North 1-2             Riley Gannon from Damian Rennie and Darian Harris


North 2-2             Landon Dziadyk from Michael Dyck and Zackary Evans


South 3-2             Booker Chacalias from Dawson Blanchette and Dale McCabe


3-2 South after 1


North 3-3             Darian Harris from Michael Dyck and Landon Dziadyk


South 4-3             Marshall Brown from Tanner Tiel and Evan Easton


4-3 South after 2


South 5-3             Mateo Albinati from Isaac Leik and Tanner Tiel


North 4-5             Darian Harris from Scott Rademaker


South 6-4             Thomas Spink from Gavin Grewal


South 7-4             Reid Lindsay from Tyler Vanuden and Thomas Spink


North 5-7             Kyle Jennings unassisted


South 8-5             Josh Lingard from Evan Abgrall and Marshall Brown


North 6-8             Zackary Evans from Damon Kramer and Cole Slaney


South 9-6             Dawson Blanchette unassisted


South 10-6          Isaac Leik from Mateo Albinati and Tanner Tiel


North 7-10          Michael Dyck from Landon Dziadyk and Kyle Jennings


10-7 South FINAL