League History

VIJHL History Page

Founded in 1965, the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL) is a 9 team Junior “B” league located on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada.

The Brent Patterson Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the VIJHL playoff champion at the end of the season.

The winner of the Brent Patterson Memorial Trophy along with the champions of the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League (KIJHL), the Pacific Junior Hockey League (PJHL) and the designated host team compete for the Cyclone Taylor Cup, the British Columbia Junior “B’ championship.

The most recent VIJHL playoff champions are the Campbell River Storm (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2015, 2017 and 2018), the Victoria Cougars (2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016) and the Peninsula Panthers (1989, 2010 and 2011). The Campbell River Storm have won the most league championships (10), followed by the Victoria Cougars, Saanich Braves and Kerry Park Islanders, each with seven.

In the past 2 seasons, the Championship Finals have gone the full seven games. On April 2, 2017, the league was blessed with one of the best games to ever determine a league championship. The Campbell River Storm defeated the Victoria Cougars 4-3 in Game 7 at 4:48 of the 4th overtime when Christian Brandt found the back of the net. The goaltenders faced a combined 135 shots on goal.

In April 2019, the VIJHL and the Campbell River Storm will host the CYclone Taylor Cup at Rod Brind’Amour Arena.